Library boycott of Blackstone eAudiobooks

The Washington Digital Library Consortium (WDLC), of which Whatcom County Library System (WCLS) is a member, has chosen to boycott Blackstone Publishing’s eAudiobooks for six months in response to Blackstone’s prohibition on library purchases. We invite other libraries to join us in this effort. We have already sent Blackstone notification of the boycott, but are happy to send an addendum if your library wishes to be included. Alternately, you can design your own boycott and may use any of the materials below.

  • Detailed proposal including patron impact analysis and logistics for selectors (Word, PDF)
  • Our letter to Blackstone (Word, PDF)
  • Our letter to Overdrive (Word, PDF)
  • Talking points for stakeholders (Word, PDF)
  • Q&A for staff and patrons (Word, PDF)
  • FAQs for libraries considering the boycott (Word, PDF)
  • Sample press release (Word, PDF)
  • Sample email to patrons who have long wait times on boycotted titles (Word, PDF)

You can also view updates on the boycott and sign up for weekly emails that summarize the updates.

Participating libraries:

Washington Digital Library Consortium, representing:

  • Anacortes Public Library
  • Asotin County Library
  • Bellingham Public Library
  • Burlington Public Library
  • Camas Public Library
  • Carpenter Memorial (Cle Elum) Library
  • Castle Rock Public Library
  • Blanche Bradley Cathlamet Public Library
  • Central Skagit Library
  • Columbia County Rural Library District
  • Davenport Public Library
  • Denny Ashby (Pomeroy) Library
  • East Adams Library District (Ritzville)
  • Ellensburg Public Library
  • Gilmour Memorial (Kittitas) Public Library
  • Grandview Library
  • Harrington Public Library
  • Hesseltine (Wilbur) Public Library
  • Jefferson County Library
  • Kalama Public Library
  • Kelso Public Library
  • La Conner Regional Library District
  • Liberty Lake Municipal Library
  • Longview Public Library
  • Lopez Island Library District
  • Mount Vernon City Library
  • Neill Public Library
  • North Olympic Library System
  • Ocean Shores Public Library
  • Odessa Public Library
  • Orcas Island Public Library
  • Port Townsend Public Library
  • Puyallup Public Library
  • Reardan Memorial Library
  • Richland Public Library
  • Roslyn Public Library
  • San Juan Island Library
  • Sprague Public Library
  • Upper Skagit Library
  • Walla Walla County Rural Library District
  • Walla Walla Public Library
  • Weller (Waitsburg) Public Library
  • Whatcom County Library System
  • Whitman County Rural Library District

Schertz Public Library, Schertz, TX

Driscoll Public Library, Devine, TX

Real County Public Library, Leakey, TX

Boise Public Library, Boise, ID

Timberland Regional Library, Tumwater, WA

Tolleson Public Library, Tolleson, AZ

East Bonner County Library District, Sandpoint, ID

Seguin Public Library, Seguin, TX

Central Pennsylvania Library District, representing:

  • Centre County Library
  • Clearfield County Public Library
  • DuBois Public Library
  • Joseph & Elizabeth Shaw Library
  • Juniata County Library
  • Mifflin County Library
  • Schlow Centre Region Library

Berks County Library System, Leesport, PA