Book Club Picks, Meetings and Resources


Book Club Calendar

More Book Club Meetings

Book Club Picks

If you’re in need of new selections for your book club, we can help! Our quarterly picks lists below are filled with engaging titles sure to spark lively discussion. For each title, we:

  • purchase multiple copies so they’ll be available to book club members
  • purchase multiple formats so you can read the way you like best
  • commit to keeping the titles for 18 months from the time we pick them so you can plan ahead

Whatcom READS


Whatcom Reads logo

Join the 2022 Whatcom READS community discussion by reading Greenwood with your book group. Then watch for upcoming events starting in Fall 2021 that explore themes from the book.

FALL 2021 PICKS


In 1909, two brothers fight for union rights and for their own basic survival, as they are swept into the Spokane free speech riots. “An intimate story of brotherhood, love, sacrifice, and betrayal set against the panoramic backdrop of an early twentieth-century America that eerily echoes our own time.”

Fiction

Check availability and learn more

“A ‘delving, haunted, and poetic debut’ (The New York Times Book Review) about the awe-inspiring lives of whales, revealing what they can teach us about ourselves, our planet, and our relationship with other species.”

Nonfiction

Check availability and learn more

In this deeply personal account, memoirist and food writer Molly Wizenberg relates her story of identity, sexuality, family, relationships and finding the truth of herself, at a time when she least expected it.

Nonfiction

Check availability and learn more

“Part memoir, part guidebook, and part social history, For Small Creatures Such as We is the first book from the daughter of Carl Sagan and Ann Druyan–a luminous exploration of all Earth’s marvels that require no faith in order to be believed.”

Nonfiction

Check availability and learn more

A joyful and insightful memoir that offers a unique perspective on intersectionality and life as a Black queer Christian man in America. “In essays by turns hysterical and heartfelt, Eric redefines what it means to be an ‘other’ through the lens of his own life experience.”

Nonfiction

Check availability and learn more

“With no prospects in violence-shattered Colombia, Elena and Mauro head to America, overstay their tourist visas, and start a family. Then Mauro is deported, and Elena must hold together her family alone.”

Fiction

Check availability and learn more

With the New York Public Library at its center, this meticulously researched historical novel incorporates the storylines of two strong-willed women living centuries apart, both touched by the same mystery.

Fiction

Check availability and learn more

The recipient of several awards, this multigenerational story reveals the experiences of the Trần family, set against the backdrop of the Việt Nam War. A lyrical and emotional novel of strength and survival, perfect for fans of Min Jin Lee’s novel Pachinko.

Fiction

Check availability and learn more

A young girl marked by her older sister’s disappearance during a family vacation grapples with truth and secrets when confronted years later by a suspect in the crime. Suspenseful and compelling, this novel offers a unique perspective on the relationships that define us.

Fiction

Check availability and learn more

“Author Yaa Gyasi crafts a superbly nuanced portrait of a Ghanaian American woman trying to make sense of her present through her past–a past tragically rocked by her brother’s fatal opioid addiction.”

Fiction

Check availability and learn more

View these titles in a list


EARLIER PICKS