Library Board of Trustees

The five volunteer members of the WCLS Board of Trustees are appointed by the Whatcom County Executive. The Library Board is responsible for budget oversight and setting policy for WCLS. Day-to-day management is entrusted to the Executive Director, who is hired by the Board. Regular public meetings are held on the third Tuesday of every month. Please see the meeting schedule below for dates and locations.

If you believe in libraries and are looking for an opportunity to serve Whatcom County communities, WCLS is seeking applicants for an upcoming five-year term on the Board of Trustees. Applications are accepted at the Whatcom County administrative office. Applicants are appointed by the county executive and confirmed by the Whatcom County Council. Please click the following links for the Application Form and more information on How to Apply. In addition to meeting the expectations for Whatcom County board and commission members, WCLS Board of Trustees members must be able to uphold the American Library Association’s Library Bill of Rights and Freedom to Read Statement, the Washington Library Association Intellectual Freedom Section and the WCLS Board of Trustees BylawsTrustee Code of Ethics and Conflict of Interest Policy.

Board of Trustees

Marv Waschke

Marvin Waschke, Chair
Finance Committee
IT Committee
Personnel Committee
WCLF Liaison
Second Term
Expires 1/31/2023

Lori Jump, Vice Chair
Marketing Committee
IT Committee
Second Term
Expires 1/31/2024

Matthew Santos

Matthew Santos
Marketing Committee
First Term
Expires 1/31/2025

Photo of Library Director Rod Lofdahl

Rodney Lofdahl
Finance Committee
Personnel Committee
Second Term
Expires 1/31/2026
Erika Nuerenberg

Erika Lautenbach, Secretary
Second Term
Expires 1/31/2027
Christine Perkins

Christine Perkins
Executive Director
Whatcom County Library System
Contact Executive Director

Public Meetings

The Board holds its regular public meetings on the third Tuesday of each month at 9:00 a.m. Locations vary. Changes to the schedule become available at least one week in advance. Persons with special needs or disabilities who will need accommodations to attend the meetings are asked to please contact at least three business days in advance of the meeting.

Board of Trustees Meetings are open to the public in accordance with RCW 42.30. The Board is currently holding meetings with options for in-person or remote participation. This year’s meeting dates and locations are shown below. Persons wishing to be provided an internet link or telephone number to access the meeting are asked to please email before the meeting, in accordance with the agenda notice, or at least three business days in advance of the meeting if special accommodations are required to attend the meeting. Written public comments may be submitted to prior to the meeting.

2023 Meeting Dates: Location:
January 17 Zoom and Lynden Library
February 21 Zoom and Administrative Services
March 21 Zoom and Administrative Services
April 18 Zoom and Administrative Services
May 16 Zoom and Point Roberts Library
June 20 Zoom and Administrative Services
July 18 Zoom and Island Library
August 15 Zoom and Sumas Public Library
September 19 Zoom and Everson McBeath Community Library
October 17 Zoom and Administrative Services
November 21 Zoom and Administrative Services
December 19 Zoom and Administrative Services